Karim City College

You are here: Home ACADEMIC Faculty / Department Department of Philosophy

Department of Philosophy

The Department of Philosophy, Karim City College started with the establishment of the college in 1961-62.

Dr. Iqbal Hussain Ansari was the founder faculty member of the department. He retired from a long service in the year 2000.

Dr. Ashraf Bihari joined the department as a temporary lecturer in November 1983, later confirmed by Bihar College Service Commission, Patna in July 1987. Presently he is the Head of the department.

Dr. Auil Ahmad, joined the department as lecturer in March, 2003, and confirmed by Jharkhand Service commission, Ranchi and continued his service till 21st Dec. 2014 and then he joined Aligah Muslim University in 22nd December 2014.

Dr. Jyoti Kumari, joined the department as a temporary lecturer on 1st April 2015, and continuing her service.

At present there are two teaching faculties in the department.

A two days UGC sponsored National Seminar on “Sufism : Need for the strengthening of National and Religious Unity” was organised on 6th and 7th April 2013, in which many scholars as a resource persons delivered their valuable lectures; and local and outstations participants presented their papers.
The departments is committed to serve students and help them to get sound knowledge and required skills to become responsible persons and citizens.


  • The department will organise one national seminar and one international seminar in coming five years.
  • To motivate students for further studies in Philosophy and go for research in the subject.
  • To start counseling classes for Philosophy to qualify in the UPSC, PSC, NET/SLET exams.
  • To establish centre for applied Philosophy and inter-disciplinary studies.
  • To establish a centre for studies and research in cultural and religious life of tribes of Jharkhand.
Establishment Year : 1961
Previous Head & teachers :

Dr. Iqbal Hussain Ansari,
Head of the Deptt.
Retd. in the year 2000

Dr. Aquil Ahmad
(He has joined  Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh )

Present faculty members :

Dr. Md. Ashraf Bihari
(Head of the Deptt.)

Non- teaching staff : Nil


Additional Info

  • Qualification Ph.D.
  • Designation Assistant Professor And HOD

 Click Here for Website of

Important Weblinks

Like us here

Contact Us

Sakchi, Jamshedpur - 831001, Jharkhand, INDIA.

  • Call: +91 657-2431778, 2423863
    2440206,2437386, 2440463

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.

Visitors Counter

All Days

Your IP
Server Time: 2018-10-20 23:05:47
You are here: Home ACADEMIC Faculty / Department Department of Philosophy